română/ bucurești/ cluj/ iași/ sibiu/

Jesse McKee, curator in residence at tranzit. ro/ Iași

January - February 2015

tranzit. ro/ Iași
Al. Lăpușneanu Street 7-9

2015 debuts with a new residency of Vancouver-based international Canadian curatorJesse Mckee. He will continue this chapter of tranzit. ro/ Iaşi regarding the residency program venture in our city. While staying in Iași, he is developing the new series in the frame of Iași library program consisting in six reading groups sessions with the participants from Iaşi.

Jesse McKee is an independent curator based in Vancouver, Canada. From 2010-11 he was the Exhibitions Curator of Western Front, Vancouver. There he developed commissions and exhibitions with the artists Eli Bornowsky (CA); Vector Association (RO), Sophie BélairCélement (CA); Goldin+Senneby (SE) and Lars Lauman (NO); NeïlBeloufa (FR/DZ); and Lee Kit (HK). From 2011 – 2014, he was the Curator of Walter Phillips Gallery, at The Banff Centre, Banff Canada. There he developed commissions and exhibitions with Mark Leckey (UK); Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater (CA); Julia Feyrer and Tamara Henderson (CA); Rebecca Brewer (CA), Lucy Stein (UK), JoséeAubin Ouellette (CA) and Ursula Mayer (UK/AT); Sarah Piece (IE); Andrea Büttner (DE/UK); Mark Clintberg (CA), Rebecca Baird (CA), Patrick Jackson (USA), Daniel Jacoby (NL/PE), JooChoon Lin (SG), Alex Morrison (BE/CA), Brent Wadden (CA); and NeïlBeloufa (FR/AZ). Forthcoming projects include a symposium on international Counter Cultures with Presentation House Gallery, Vancouver as well as a group exhibition on contemporary depictions of the grotesque, Stopping the Sun in its Course, François Ghebaly Gallery, Los Angeles, USA. In 2013 he was a jury member for the Sobey Art Award, Canada’s leading prize for contemporary artists and was a member of The Canada Council for the Art’s Asia Pacific Delegation. In 2015 he is a nominator for the “Art Gallery of Ontario”, Toronto, “AIMIA Photography Prize” and the Henry Art Gallery, University of Washington, Seatle “The Brink” award.